Headwaters Food and Farming Alliance Hub

The Hub committee sets direction, policy and resourcing for the activities of the working committees.

HFFA Hub Members

Sandra Dolson – Town of Caledon

Ruth Philips – Town of Orangeville

Marci Lipman – Headwaters Farm Fresh Guide

Ian Payne – Not So Hollow Farm

Karen Hutchinson – Albion Hills Community Farm

Shirley Boxem* – Headwaters Communities in Action

Andrew Seagram – Upper Grand District School Board

Jacalyn Dryland – Dufferin Area Family Health Team

Bob Megens – volunteer

Adelle Barr-Klouman* – Farm to School Program Coordinator

Nicole Hambleton – volunteer

Jennifer Payne – volunteer

Lisa Mychajluk – volunteer

Landon Prescott – Toronto and Region Conservation Authority

Rose Schmidt – Drawdown Headwaters

Nancy Meyer – Drawdown Headwaters


The HFFA Hub currently has voting member vacancies in the following areas:

Business, Culture and Tourism (1)

Municipal Council Representative (1)

Public Health Representative (1)

Stakeholder at Large (1)

Education, Literacy and Access Working Group

The mandate of the HFFA Education, Literacy & Access Working Group is to educate residents bysupporting school-based food and farming programs, community programs and outreach campaigns onfood and farming issues and opportunities including food literacy, food access issues and farmingeducation.

The primary objectives of the ELA group are:

  • To support the education and engagement of our youth about local food and farming.
  • To collaborate with schools to provide children and youth with opportunities and experiences to learn about food and farming, including the economic and financial value of our food and farming culture in Headwaters.
  • To increase food literacy skills by promoting the preparation and consumption of healthy foods.
  • To advocate for increased access to culturally acceptable, safe and nutritious foods to meet dietary needs; in a manner that maintains human dignity.
  • To educate and engage people in Headwaters about food & farming issues and opportunities within the region by supporting the identification, replication, development and execution of successful programs and/or events.

ELA Committee Members

Jacalyn Dryland          Dufferin Area Family Health Team, Registered Dietitian (RD)

Bob Megens                  volunteer

Heather Verpaalen      The Children’s Foundation of Guelph & Wellington/Food & Friends Network, Manager Dufferin Network

Kathryn MacDonald    volunteer, RD

Andrew Seagram         Upper Grand District School Board, Community Use of Schools Director

Shirley Boxem*              HCIA

Nicole Hambleton*      HCIA, RD and HFFA Farm to School Program Coordinator

Jennifer Payne*            HCIA and HFFA Farm to School Program Coordinator

ELA Support: Branka Gladanac    Wellington-Dufferin-Guelph Public Health


Communication and Website Subcommittee

Charged with the promotion of farm and food businesses in Headwaters through the HFFA website and other media.

Committee Members

Marci Lipman

Sandra Dolson

Jennifer Payne

Bob Megens

Vicki Sword


*Supported by Headwaters Communities in Action Staff